Live Cricket Online
   Home      Bandirippuwe
                            Trinity clinch T20 c’ships for record third title

Trinity College Kandy created an Under 19 inter-schools cricket record when they bagged their third title by emerging the Under 19 inter-schools T20 champions with a 12-run win on the Duckworth Lewis system against St Peter’s in the final played at the CCC ground yesterday.Trinity’s first title for the Under 19 inter-schools cricket season was the two-day league championship and then followed it up by clinching the Under 19 limited over tournament, which they won last week before adding their third title yesterday.The final was marred by bad weather which forced the match to be stopped at 4.00 p.m. when Trinity, chasing a target of 128, were on 63 for 2 having faced nine overs which was well ahead of the required run rate.With no play being possible, the match was called off at 5.15 p.m. after the two captains Shehan Fernando and Niroshan Dickwella agreed with the officials of the Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association and the umpires, and Trinity were subsequently declared winners.Earlier in the day St Peter’s taking first lease had an early set back when they lost their first wicket in the third over, that of skipper Shehan Fernando with the total on 18.Shasheen Fernando along with Lahiru Milantha were making steady progress with the pair defying the Trinity bowlers. But the separation of the duo after having added a valuable 43 runs saw the Peterites falling back.They lost wickets at regular intervals as there were no other useful contributions apart from Lahiru who made a top score of 41. Spinner Akila Jayasundara was in terrific form as he ran through the Peterite batting.Seven of the Peterite batsmen failed to reach double figures which put the Peterites in a spot of bother. With Akila finishing off the middle order batting Janishka Premasinghe, the limited over hero of last week, finished off the tail to restrict the opponents to a score of 127. Akila ended with impressive figures of 4 for 19 which earned him the best bowler of the final while Janishka grabbed three scalps and later made an unbeaten 48 which earned him the man of the match and the player of the series awards.Peterite Lahiru Milantha took the best batsman award while Trinity’s Dinuk Wickramanayake was adjudged the best fielder. Trinity at the end signed off the season on a successful note and fulfilled their ambitions and no doubt they were worthy triple champions and deserved to be so, for the hard work and dedication put in by the team right throughout the season.