Live Cricket Online
   Home      Abayagiriya


                            Sri Lanka settles for a draw and a series win

Kumar Sangakkara once again proved his class as the world's best test batsman with an unbeaten 74 in the third and final cricket test, which ended in a draw at the Pallakele International Cricket Stadium on Thursday.Chasing a target of 270 in 71 overs, Sri Lanka made 195 for 4 wickets as the match was called off in agreement of both captains, with nine mandatory overs left.Thus, Sri Lanka registered a 1-0 series win over Pakistan, their first test series win after three years. Sri Lanka's last test series win came in August 2009 when they beat New Zealand by 2-0, with the service of legendary spinner Muttiah Muralitharan.Sri Lanka won the first test against Pakistan in Galle, by 209 runs and the second test was drawn at the SSC.Pakistan made 380 for 8 in their second innings before setting Sri Lanka with a target to chase.Sri Lanka responded well by scoring 27 without loss in 22 minutes before lunch and later, Dinesh Chandimal and Kumar Sangakkara put Sri Lanka on course for a possible win.Chandimal and Sangakkara added 88 runs for the second wicket in 110 minutes, before the 22-year-old, who was the stand-in opener to T. M. Dilshan, fell to a brilliant catch by Asad Shafiq for 65, with four balls left for tea.Considering the situation, Sri Lanka had to change gears after tea and their plan was to try and accelerate in the last hour or so. However, losing Mahela Jayawardene and Thilan Samaraweera within 35 minutes, put Sri Lanka on the back foot.